Skip to main content
Thumbnail for Shoko's smile

Shoko's smile

Choi, Eunyoung2021
Books
In crisp, unembellished prose, Choi Eunyoung paints intimate portraits of the lives of young women in South Korea, balancing the personal with the political. In the title story, a fraught friendship between an exchange student and her host sister follows them from adolescence to adulthood. In 'A Song from Afar', a young woman grapples with the death of her lover, travelling to Russia to search for information about the deceased. In 'Secret', the parents of a teacher killed in the Sewol ferry sinking hide the news of her death from her grandmother. In the tradition of Sally Rooney, Banana Yoshimoto, and Marilynne Robinson - writers from different cultures who all take an unvarnished look at human relationships and the female experience - Choi Eunyoung is a writer to watch.
Main title:
Shoko's smile / Choi Eunyoung.
Author:
Imprint:
London : John Murray, 2021.
Collation:
320 pages ; 21 cm
Notes:
Translated from the Korean.
ISBN:
9781529376029 (hbk. :)
Dewey class:
895.735
Language:
EnglishKorean
BRN:
5017891
View my active saved list
0 items in my active saved list